Dreamer by Shane D.

Dreamer

On the park bench she sat
Looking golden in the sunlight
Left then right; no partner in sight
Pound, pound, pounding hard – I mean my heart.
Somehow, feet inched up  to her chair
Lips curved, words formed but never caught the air
Goose pimples; body felt bare
Gullet swallowing- she said “hi, you said something I didn’t hear”
“You are beautiful” was all that escaped
Heart leaped; this was something that had never being experienced
From it’s hyper state, mind descended
And the fog? It all disappeared
Ha! The park was empty
My head heavy like I was hibernating
Then my phone went buzz, buzz – vibrating
I awoke with a start… I was only dreaming.

Leave a Reply

