Sticks & Stones by Chiamaka E.

STICKS AND STONES   

 

Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me

Sticks and stones may break my bones but…

Who the hell am I kidding

Your words are like knives

They slice open arteries

Rip my tendons to shreds

They cause more pain than

Bullets shot from point blank range

Words thinly veiled in hate and judgment

Wrap hands around my throat

Constrict my airways

They slide between the cracks

Inaccessible by your blows

Tear holes in my heart

Unseen by human eyes

There is no band-aid big enough

Or glue strong enough

So let’s be real

Sticks and stones may break bones

But those eventually heal

Words cause permanent damage

Leave a Reply

